, attached to 1997-08-03

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Bathtub Gin: Decent jam out of the gate. > Foam: Mike is completely lost for at least the first minute of this one. Like he completely forgot how to play the song. They hadn’t played it since 2.21.97 so I imagine they hadn’t practiced it considering all the new tunes were probably taking up all their time. Samson Variation: Last time played, you won’t have any argument from me. > Dirt: Standard. > Vultures: Standard. My Mind's Got a Mind of its Own: Standard. Twist: Very strong Twist. Has some serious summer 97 crunch too it and that along with Page’s video games effects really packages together well. Very cool segue into… -> Jesus Just Left Chicago: it rocks hard for sure. Limb By Limb: Cool jam. Gets minor chord for a brief moment, feel like Page was pushing the envelope here. Pretty good jam but nothing I would ever pursue for a relisten. Character Zero: face melter per usual. SET 2: Julius: Trey lays way back on this one as Page leads the way on the B3. They eventually bring the house down as you would expect. > Simple: good version, pretty last couple of minutes > Fluffhead: Strong end shred! Lifeboy: Standard. > Taste: Absolutely smoked. This song was a Master Class by now. Hello My Baby: Standard. Frankenstein: Standard. ENCORE: Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. Slave to the Traffic Light: a great version. Trey’s solo is clean and inspired with a few held notes that hit hard. Would definitely recommend! Replay Value: Twist, Julius, Taste Summary: So far, set I is my least favorite set of the US tour. It’s choppy and uneven compared to all that had come before. Phish.net has this as 3.964/5 (139 ratings) – that seems too high. I would be good at 3.75/5.
, attached to 1990-06-02

Review by thelot

thelot The SBD source for this show isn’t great but it isn’t terrible either. Pretty average Winter/Spring 1990 Phish here. Reba and Possum are the set highlights. The Fire set closer is cut from the recording. Tweezer kicks off set 2. Something about Trey’s solo reminds of King Crimson’s Red. Nice Sky. As they cue up HYHU Trey calls it the Henrietta theme music. Lots of HYHU silliness during Love You. No band introduction during this version. They follow up the silliness with a rock solid YEM complete with a inspired/goofy vocal jam. Before Contact, Page wishes Michael Gactin a happy 25th birthday. GXBX cuts.
, attached to 1997-08-02

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Theme From the Bottom: Standard, loud and awesome ending before the lyric refrain. Ginseng Sullivan: Trey picks this one with blazing speed, impressive. Ghost: Trey takes this to full summer 97 in the late 7’s with that crazy tone. Good Ghost but never quite breaks out of the pocket. They seemed content to just sit in there until it fizzles out and ends. Dogs Stole Things: Standard. Divided Sky: One of only 4 times played in 97, released on Live Bait Vol. 4. LOL, dude on the Phish.in source during the long pause “Those guys are f*** idiots!” Rip roaring all timer! Wolfman's Brother: First the funk, then the rage. The funk is fine, about what you would expect from summer 97. But the rage section is seriously knocked out of the park. They truly crush the hell out of it! This is a must hear version! Would highly recommend! Water in the Sky: Standard. Split Open and Melt: It’s good but nothing that really grabbed my attention or spoke to me. SET 2: Down with Disease: Almost three minutes of effects and craziness to intro before Mike does his thing to kick this one off. This version doesn’t stand out much for me outside of the last minute and half which is pretty cool! -> Tweezer: This one gets into an interesting space in the early 13’s. A nice mix of Trey’s pornofunk and that cool high pitched tone that debuted in 97. By the late 14’s this is transitioning into a hard rocking jam that is tinged with Sweet Emotion from Mike. Extremely cool! The hose is in full effect and then things start to slowly start like DWD. Then there is basically a full return to DWD in the early 17’s. More or less. At about 18:10 it’s obvious that this is going to go the JBG route or honestly could have gone Olivia’s Pool too, but not… -> Johnny B. Goode: Standard. > Sparkle: Standard. Wading in the Velvet Sea: Standard. Loving Cup: Standard. > Tweezer Reprise: ENCORE: Harry Hood – Must have been a cool moment when Trey had Kuroda turn off the lights. How long did they stay off for? Good Hood, but to me nothing really stands out. Would not care to revisit, too many other great versions. Trey says “Mount Hood” at the very end. Replay Value: Divided Sky, Wolfman's Brother, Down with Disease, Tweezer, Harry Hood Summary: I am not quite as high on this show as the overall rating on Phish.net: Overall: 4.315/5 (165 ratings). I would rate this as an even 4 out of 5. The first set I thought was very good, actually better than the second set – very long to coming in at 91 minutes. It is a very good show with significant highlights but there are some holes. For instance, after Tweezer the show is basically over until the encore. Big nosedive.
, attached to 1997-07-31

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Ghost: Don’t let the length on this one fool you. It means serious business and makes that known early on. > Ya Mar: Trey’s staccato picking is absolutely fantastic. At 11 minutes in this is taking a distinctly summer 97 left hand turn. All timer Ya Mar right here! > Dogs Stole Things: Standard. Limb By Limb: What a four headed monster this jam is in the early going, just unbelievable. Just after 8 minutes it sounds like this one is going to wrap. Not so fast my friend. That slight fake out leads to a brief inspired jam and then the actual wrap up with Mike sounding amazing and of course Fish doing his thing. Great version! Dirt: Absolutely perfect. > Maze: Trey’s solo is extra-long. Solid Maze but nothing too crazy here. Glide: Solid. Saw It Again: Standard. You Enjoy Myself: Absolutely incredible, full band jamming is just exceptional. The jamming that starts in the mid to late 11’s is just so odd and unique. It screams summer 97 weirdness. The Santa Comes to Town stuff is brilliant and fits like a glove. This entire jam is an assault on the senses. Truly brow beating in the best manner possible. Likely tough to handle on a strong headful. SET 2: Runaway Jim: Little Sweet Home Alabama tease in the intro here. Trey guides the jam into a funky place starting at 7:36, lots of pornofunk type stuff, very cool. This really only lingers for a couple of minutes and by about ten and a half minutes the band is working itself into a very hard driving/rocking jam. Great pace to this as well. Transition into a gorgeous major key jam in the early 12 minute mark. Things are getting very summer 97 in the early 15’s – lots of psychedelic craziness led by Trey. Much like that segment in YEM, this is another assault on the senses. Hang in there phanners! By the late 20’s this one is gradually mellowing out into a nice mellow groove and a couple minutes finds itself segueing nicely into -> When the Circus Comes: Standard. Vultures: Standard. McGrupp and the Watchful Hosemasters: Standard. > Mike's Song: Page is fantastic in the midsection. Very bluesy playing on the baby grand, just beautiful. This eventually finds itself in a very dark and ominous place with Page ramping up a big wall of effects for a moment or two that is a perfect backdrop to what Trey is directing. -> I Am Hydrogen: Listening closely it’s insane to me how good Trey sounds on this. You can almost see the notes, lol. That tone is so clean and beautiful. > Weekapaug Groove: Pretty standard. But the Happy Birthday tease, Trey’s sincere nod to Jerry and brief speech about keeping his spirit alive through the music and the Can't You Hear Me Knocking jam is all super cool. ENCORE: Cinnamon Girl – Standard. Replay Value: Ya Mar, Limb By Limb, You Enjoy Myself, Runaway Jim, Mike's Song Summary: Just a killer show! Ya Mar and Jim I have down as all timers and the YEM and Mike’s are extremely good. The rest of the show is very solid, and the energy is explosive as the band meant business right from the opening notes of Ghost. Love this show and agree with the current rating from Phish.net of 4.497/5 (193 ratings).
, attached to 1990-06-01

Review by thelot

thelot Decent enough audience recording with some choice crowd banter throughout. The one major downside to this source is the level fluctuations throughout. It’s too bad the first set doesn’t circulate because it looks pretty good. Set 2 kick off with some good ‘ol fashion bluegrass. New friend and future bluegrass mentor, Jeff Mosier joins the band on banjo and vocals. Oteil Burbridge joins in on the fun for a unique Antelope. Oteil shines during the Marco section (move over Mr. Gordon!) Weekapaug slays per usual. It’s reported that HYHU followed Love You in Woodbury(4/29) but unfortunately it’s cut from the tapes. This show features the first time HYHU bookends a Fishman song. A fan keeps yelling for Fee when Fish takes the stage. Trey and Page launch into Fee leaving Fish on the spot. Fun impromptu moment. They abort Fee pretty quickly and head into Terrapin. Henrietta plays with his bone on this version. Solid Possum set closer. The fan yelling for Fee finally gets it during the encore. Enjoyable set of music with great chomper banter in between songs.
, attached to 1997-07-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: NICU: Standard. > Wolfman's Brother: Extremely chill version. Slow and methodical and of course deep, deep funk. At 10:34 this one gets into a hard rock, sort of classic rock kind of feel. A little over one minute later it kind of segues into > Chalk Dust Torture: Every so briefly toys with going Type II in the mid 7’s. Forsakes that route in favor of Trey taking us to Shreds Town USA. Man, he just rips this to shreds! Trey does the Bobby Weir ‘Thank you’ after this one, lol. Water in the Sky: Standard. Stash: At 7:23 Trey shifts this jam into major key mode. Snapped back into familiar Stash territory at 8:51. Good Stash jam but gets great starting at 12:00 thanks to Fishman, he completely takes charge. Big, ‘ol delay effect from Trey at 12:59. There really is not a screaming peak in this version. Very good version, not great. Weigh: Standard. > Piper: Standard. > Cars Trucks Buses: Standard. Character Zero: Standard. SET 2: Punch You in the Eye: Standard. What is with the air horn in the crowd, lol. Get out of here with that crap! > Free: Very solid and funky. > David Bowie: Heady intro, Fish on vacuum but super quiet. Things start getting interesting around 14 and a half and then around 15:20 Trey starts porno funking around, very cool stuff. The eventual segue is incredible and a legendary moment in the band’s history… -> Cities: This version gets very funky for a brief amount of time -> David Bowie: Very up tempo finish, great climax for a legendary version of David Bowie – all timer without a doubt. Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. Uncle Pen: Standard. Prince Caspian: Pretty much standard. Pretty Page on the outro. > Fire: Standard. ENCORE: My Soul – Replay Value: Chalk Dust Torture, Stash, David Bowie, Cities, David Bowie Summary: I know I will get crushed for this but I think this show is overrated. Outside of the Bowie Cities sandwich, there isn’t a whole lot here. This show is more on the level of Austin . Phish.net has it at 4.495/5 (218 ratings). I will rate it as a 4.2 out of 5.
, attached to 1997-07-23

Review by TheFuckinBook_Man

TheFuckinBook_Man Man it was nice, the memories of this show. The kickin' it with the dude in the group who was an old friend but i hadn't seen in years- us finding hash, which wasn't ever around our hometown, the sound of an approaching nebula that gratefully didn't take us away but instead let us talk to each other after the show and ask ourselves if next time we would go to space. Musta happened during Ghost. A bundle of other great versions of songs like the LxL, Melt, YEM Way, and my second Billy Breathes at my 2nd show! The feeling of being at this show (on some hash, no hallucinogens) with its music was more otherworldly to me than the music and me at my first show 11/6/96 while on L. Now we know why! This show has better music. See ya in Huntsville
, attached to 1990-05-31

Review by thelot

thelot So so audience recording available for this show. The vocals are bit muddy. This is definitely not a matrix recording. This set is pretty average Winter/Spring 1990 Phish. Things start out with an appropriate Possum opener. Decent YEM. Trey makes a last call for alcohol at the start of Esther. Tweezer is pretty tame once again. Nice Sky and Suzy. Like the show at The Brewery in NC, this is a well played show with no big moments. Highlights: YEM, Sky, Suzy
, attached to 1987-05-20

Review by dr_strangelove

dr_strangelove One of the best 1987 shows I've encountered up to this point in the year (there will be some even better shows yet to come, looking at you 1987-08-21). Highlights: 1) [u]Wilson[/u]: Great build into the song proper, kind of like an eerie swamp monster slowly swimming into sight (different from the band/crowd call-and-response that is typical today). Rocking, high energy version (typical) [b]2) [u]Antelope[/u]: [/b] You can feel the electric energy of the band as they groove the hell out of the beginning of this Antelope, loping cheerily through the tall grass. The raging part of the jam comes screaming out like a wildcat, with Trey's soloing absolutely destroying the stage. Must hear example of an early Phish jam reaching the pinnacles of legendary versions. [b]3) [u]Back Porch Boogie Blues[/u]:[/b] A rollicking and enthusiastic take on this lovely instrumental. Everyone really is playing with such pizzazz, but I was really taken away by the heavy bass thumping from Mike near the beginning of the tune. Eventually, the band speeds up and rides this little doggie straight into the motherf***ing dirt! It's a slamming, stellar, gut punching version. [b]4) [u]YEM[/u]:[/b] There were parts of this band that transported me backwards in time. Not to 1987, but literally like riding a temporal wave of psychedlic guitar and clavinet funk. Great energy.
, attached to 1990-05-24

Review by thelot

thelot Nice SBD source available for this show. The first song has some level adjustments. The Sloth opener cuts in. Sloth>Bouncin’ is an interesting pairing. The Tweezer that follows is a bit tame compared to the last few versions. After Tweezer Fish says “that was from the Jane Fonda workout tape, it’s called Tweezer so Cold” Decent YEM. Foam makes for a nice opener. This is the first time it opened a 2nd set. The “Predating ritual” was up next. The debut of Horn had the original mid section. No mention of this being the debut version. Nice version of Hood. Well played show overall but no big moments.
, attached to 2019-04-20

Review by Multibeast_Rider

Multibeast_Rider This was a special night at the Greek. I was personally recovering from being sick and didn't have much energy, but it was still a special night. Khruangbin was a special opener and got things moving. As for Ghosts of the Forest, I'd listened to the entire album a few times, but it was a perfect night for the kind of music they were playing. It was a typically cool/overcast evening with a very chill vibe that suited the music. Note: [url=https://open.spotify.com/album/37n19PLHn5b0sVBEeUJZNJ]this show[/url] was later released on streaming services like Spotify. [url=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vG4xwTt0dTU]The opener[/url] is also available on YouTube.
, attached to 1990-05-23

Review by thelot

thelot Pretty good SBD source for this show! It’s sounds like a very intimate show with about 15-20 people. Set 1 opens with a nice Sky, a solid YEM and a gritty version of Possum. The second half opens with a (Lawn Boy lp) Coil, Reba pairing. Another strong Reba jam. Super fun Tweezer opening segment with lots of full band grunts and growls. The fun leads into the jam delivering a fantastic version. Fish introduces it as “The Tweezer Song” again. La Grange features more gritty playing from Trey. The VA audience is treated to a nice McGrupp. Really nice solo from Cactus in A-Train. Longest ever? Great version of A-Train! An awesome Antelope wraps up set 2. Trey has to be the bearer of bad news and let people know that they won’t be playing at a rumored location in town, but will be playing in Raleigh, NC the following night or Hilton Head, SC that weekend. Enjoyable Mike’s. Unfortunately, Groove cuts way to early. The intro is nice with a little start/stop. :( Great first show back on southern soil!
, attached to 1997-07-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Theme From the Bottom: They loved this tune so much back in 97. Played it exceptionally well too. This is a rocking way to get this show off the ground. Trey gets some nice effects working before Page starts pounding out the ending refrain. Beauty of My Dreams: Standard. Gumbo: Trey’s staccato picking starting at 4:07 is sick – especially with Mike synced up tightly with him throwing bombs down! Trey shifts his tone to that signature summer 97 weirdness at 5:15 – you know the one ???? At 6:47 from Mike – this sounds exactly like the https://www.phishtracks.com/shows/1998-04-05/jam at 3:11 and beyond. Very similar! Things get very mellow in the late 10’s as Trey largely drops out. This meanders through until it ends around 14 minutes. An exceptional Gumbo! The first of it’s kind in terms of jammed out Gumbo’s and an absolute all timer! Dirt: Super clean and crushed by Trey. Exquisite. Sparkle: Standard. Ghost: Goes along as you would expect and then in the late 12’s is cleared for takeoff as Trey guides the band into the stratosphere, the hose is in full effect here people. Gorgeous, repetitive theme is realized, and they capitalize on it in spades. In the early 14’s Trey falls back, and this gets quite ethereal and slides ever so nicely into… > Swept Away > Steep > - Standard. Loving Cup: Standard. SET 2: Olivia's Pool: Run Like an Antelope: Things take a turn for a quiet and introspective sort of jam in the early 8’s, very different for Antelope. Trey hits an eerie, scratchy loop in the late 9’s and it sounds like they are about to take you through something dark and intense. Quite the opposite, actually. This takes its time but works its way into an upbeat, major chord groove. By 12:30 this is more or less back in familiar Antelope style jamming yet still with a hint of that major chord stuff, thanks to Mike. Things are getting extremely awesome in the late 13’s as Trey is really ramping up the tension. An enormous, wall of sound emerges out of all this and then an orgasmic peak – just unbelievably nuts. Phish at their chaotic best! All timer for sure! > Wading in the Velvet Sea: This was need after that face melting Antelope, great placement! Twist: This starts getting very cool in the 9’s. Very dark and choppy. Wind is really picking up on the tapes. This jam gets very dark and dissonant in the 12 minute range, not one for the faint of heart – only for the seasoned psychedelic warriors, lol. Picks up a heavy metal, hard edge at the 15 minute mark. Page trying to lift the band out of the murky depths in the late 15’s with some beautiful runs on the baby grand, Trey finally gives in around 16:15. This gets absolutely beautiful!!! Extremely difficult and well executed segue into… -> Taste: Never saw this coming, that was very cool! Trey’s tone in the 8 minute range is very interesting as he is just crushing the solo. Ferocious Taste, blistering as hell. A must hear! When you think they are done – they go for it AGAIN. Just bonkers! Another all timer! Sample in a Jar: Some of the best group vocals I have ever heard in this tune are from this version, they sound GREAT. Trey can’t seem to get in the right key for a while as the jam starts. There is a huge cheer from the crowd in the early 3’s. It made me search the reviews on .net, saw nothing that would indicate why this happened. I then checked out https://phish.net/review/archive and sure enough per one review it seems a fan got on stage during Sample, and everyone went wild. > Rocky Top: Standard. The Squirming Coil: Not standard! Page and Trey funk up the solo until 7:05 when Page opts for the baby grand, super cool! Page’s solo is a must hear. Lengthy and especially in the early going, sort of atypical to my ear, almost minor key I think? ENCORE: Possum – Are they teasing something in the intro? Either way it sounds great. The very beginning of the jam sounded sort of atypical to me, very cool as well. It quickly settles into your typical Possum jam. Replay Value: Gumbo, Ghost, Run Like an Antelope, Twist, Taste, The Squirming Coil Summary: Set one is short but delivers two outstanding jams! It must have been a windy evening as that is very noticeable on the tapes in many different songs unfortunately. Set two has the big guns as well and please don’t sleep on that Coil. Phish.net to my ear has this rating completely dialed in at 4.259/5 (139 ratings). Stellar show – the first of five at this venue in Phoenix.
, attached to 1997-07-26

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Limb By Limb: Killer funk jam at the end. Crazy having Gullotti on this, overload. Dogs Stole Things: Gullotti does not sound great in this intro, IMHO. > Poor Heart: Standard. Stash: This thing goes amazeballs around the 9 and a half minute mark. Just explodes. Things get very dirty and dissonant around 11:30 and beyond. Super intense. Things settle at 12:30 and things get very quiet. No peak and abruptly goes for the finish around 14:20. Kind of a lost opportunity. Billy Breathes: Trey introduces Bob G. Sounds too aggressive with Bob G. Cars Trucks Buses: Standard but lively! Dirt: Trey crushes this solo as typical in summer 97. Super clean and big peaks. Perfect lead into… You Enjoy Myself: Rock solid YEM. No B&D, no VJ. Trey messes with Izabella for almost a full minute before totally committing – pretty cool. -> Izabella: Machine gun Trey, just blisters this one, Rock God! SET 2: Timber (Jerry the Mule) – Trey’s tone starting at 3:18, that guitar GROWLS – LOVE THIS. Hard charging, largely psychedelic jam. Goes into very, very deep space around the 14 minute mark, sits there for about a minute and a half and then they go for the closing refrain and lyrics. All timer Timber > David Bowie: Crazy long intro with nasty effects and an interesting jam from Mike and the two drummers get a nice groove going too. Finally breaks into the song proper around 6 and half minutes in. Still not as long as the 8.5 minute intro from 8.10.97 Deer Creek. Gullotti is all over the place in the composed section – lol – specifically in the late 7’s and early 8’s. Trey creates a really cool theme around 17:30 and rides that for one minute. Things really heat up from here. Page sounds amazing. Smoking closing section. Really enjoy this version and surprised it is not a jamcharts version. Harry Hood: Standard…until… -> Blister in the Sun Jam: Crowd loves it when they realize what is going on -> Harry Hood: This section goes along as you would expect until it doesn’t, it gets a little crazy and then out of nowhere -> Free: Trey goes way off the beaten Free path in the mid 4’s but is back to what you would consider for a 97 Free jam at the 5 minute mark. Very fun, bouncy jam in the middle portion. Definitely a solid Free that I would recommend. Waste: Trey absolutely crushes this solo, outstanding work. > Johnny B. Goode: Trey puts on a clinic on how to shred like a Rock God! ENCORE: Bouncing Around the Room – Standard. Cavern: Trey blows some lyrics and laughs it off. It almost sounds like something made him laugh first and then got him off track perhaps instead of him actually forgetting lyrics. Replay Value: Limb By Limb, Timber (Jerry the Mule), David Bowie, Free Summary: I feel like this show is slightly underrated - 3.935/5 (123 ratings) – I think with the all timer Timber and then other very solid highlights such as LxL with a very unique ending, very strong Bowie and Free plus that YEM > Izabella – this tome is a 4.1 out of 5. Definitely a nice pick as a dark horse type of show. Gotta love the Gullotti guest spot.
, attached to 1990-05-19

Review by thelot

thelot Pretty flat/lifeless SBD source available for this show. The pitch sounds a hair slow as well. The first set is standard Winter/Spring 1990 Phish. YEM>Lizards was the set highlight. The second set overall is as straightforward as the first. Highlights include Reba, Rift, Jesus Left and an amusing version of Contact.
, attached to 1996-07-12

Review by Lovewillcarryusthrough

Lovewillcarryusthrough I just want to point out that paluska or Tom Marshall or someone close to them, I can’t recall this moment, said in an interview that the band heavily puffing hash before going on stage is what led to this. Not an elaborate prank or anything intentional. He very specifically said it was the first time in the band’s history that he had ever seen them too inebriated to play longer than a handful of minutes at a time without having to stop and regroup. That’s what led to so many unfinished tracks and sloppy playing. And that’s not coming from my mouth. That’s straight from the mouth of a person who was there with them backstage and the entire time after this show and the rest of the tour….you don’t think they talked about it and laughed or whatever? I’m sure a firsthand account had insight we all don’t, which would include conversations about being too fucked up to play. Listen to the beginning of its ice as a prime example…that’s not “pranking” or messing around or whatever. That’s straight up lack of confidence for the first time ever and not knowing how to play the song. I think it’s comical that so many phans read so much into stuff like this and think they know what the band is doing and put words and stories into their mouths. Sometimes pranks and gags and creativity is intentional from the band and it’s a blast. And sometimes people just get too fucking high to play.
, attached to 1990-05-15

Review by thelot

thelot Set 1 SBD source #1 sounds awesome! The patch source isn’t great but fills in the holes nicely. Set 2 is a subpar audience recording but thankfully this unique second set was recorded! The recording starts off with the Soundcheck. Adeline cuts in. There’s clearly an audience present for the soundcheck. Lots of fun stage banter that comes through nicely on the tape. Hilarious version of Bitch!! Trey gives a shout out to the Hamilton College graduates during LTJP. Some of whom had been seeing the band since they started playing Hamilton College back in ‘88. Foam features a Santana inspired solo from Trey. Groove smokes per usual. This spunky version of Uncle Pen transitions nicely into Bouncin’. They break for the rain after a rock solid Melt. They come back and close with Jim. There’s a good chance there’s more to this second set. The tape picks up during A-Train. Sometime between Set 1 on the McKewen Quad and Set 2 in the Keehn Co-Op Dorm Lounge, Page acquires a new toy which he uses throughout the 2nd set. From A-Train to the set closing Contact Page colors this set with some interesting sounds. It’s a shame the sound quality is lacking, but at least some of this unique set was recorded!
, attached to 1997-07-25

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Beauty of My Dreams: Standard. Wolfman's Brother: Super sick funk jam until Trey latches onto a theme that takes them to new heights. Absolutely brilliant – this version is an all timer. > Maze: This gets WAY down and dirty in the middle of Trey’s solo. Very dissonant – his guitar is growling, super cool tone!! Lot’s of delay effects in there too. Big, killer peak. All timer version for sure. Water in the Sky: Standard. Bathtub Gin: Really cool yet brief interplay between Page and Trey and that it shifts for an extended sort of Fish and Trey dominated duo of sorts. Very fun. By the 13 minute mark things have gotten way, way out there with heavy Page effects. Like Maze, this one is pretty dissonant. Around the 14 and a half minute mark Trey reels this one and is soloing beautifully. Gorgeous lines. By about the 19 minute mark Page and Trey team up for some great interplay. Shortly after they start messing around with the original theme and then slowly wind this one down. Sort of. They segue this nicely into… -> Makisupa Policeman: Breakfast at the Fog, lemon drops and some nugs. Great effects from Trey in here. Very ominous. With about a minute and half left Trey lends a bit of a heavy metal edge to this one, pretty cool. That doesn’t last but 20 seconds or so. -> AC/DC Bag: They take this one higher and higher and higher, and then they don’t actually play the peak. Holy blue balls Batman going into the break, lol! This was the last time that Bag has closed out the first set and before this show it hadn’t been done since 5.20.94. Here are the other times: 3/22/1988, 6/1/1990, 4/5/1994, 4/18/1994. Very, very rare placement. SET 2: Chalk Dust Torture: Bob Gullotti ! Jam gets very chill in the late 9’s. I LOVE the space they work themselves into starting around 14 minutes, Trey’s tone is amazing. This goes on for about a minute and then 15 seconds later Trey guides them deftly into… -> Taste: Sorry, but this just isn’t a good version. It becomes a bit discombobulated towards the end, they abandon the notion of the traditional peak and instead work towards this segue… -> Ya Mar: Gullotti just SLAMMING hit kit in the intro. Super loud. Leo and the drummers eventually transitions into a cool drum jam -> Drums -> Ghost: The dual drum attack here makes for a unique intro. If you love ambient, deep space backed by Trey’s loops, this is the Ghost for you. Would have to be in the right headspace to appreciate it > Character Zero: Standard, crowd loves it! ENCORE: Theme From the Bottom – Standard. Replay Value: Wolfman's Brother, Maze, Bathtub Gin, Makisupa Policeman, AC/DC Bag, Chalk Dust Torture Summary: Wolfman’s and Maze are all timers. I feel like Gin is too. I think it may get overlooked or underrated as it doesn’t have a big peak that many of the all time greats have? But the total body of work is very impressive and deserving of recognition. It’s a yellow jamchart version so maybe I am overthinking this, lol. This is a really interesting show. First set > Second set. Phish.net has it at 4.336/5 (125 ratings) – seems dead on to me.
, attached to 1990-05-05

Review by J_R_B

J_R_B This show was cut off in the middle of the second set right after Mike's Groove by the Haverfest committee due to hitting curfew. I was not happy about that. The first Haverford show in February was my first show and I was super excited that they were coming back for Haverfest. I don't remember anything about the setlist other than Mike's Groove.
, attached to 1997-07-23

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Julius: Smoking, absolutely red hot. The way they take it way down low, and the fiery jam is seriously unreal. If you ever wonder if 1997 is overhyped or they aren’t that tight, you need to listen to this. Each member is so in tune with their mates – it is just wonderful to listen to. Incredible musicianship, and all off the cuff and improvised. Spectacular. All timer Julius. Dirt: Timing seems a bit off leading up to the lyrics. NICU: Standard. > Dogs Stole Things: Standard. > Ginseng Sullivan: Standard. Water in the Sky: Standard. Limb By Limb: Strong version with a nice peak but don’t think I would seek this one out necessarily. Split Open and Melt: Super funky jam out of the gate. This gets down and dirty. Definitely a face melter. Lots of craziness towards the end. Billy Breathes: Well-placed for sure. Beautiful solo. Possum: Textbook on how to create tension and release. Face melting rager. Highly recommended! Rocking hard into set break. When lights came up I can only imagine what the crowd looked like! SET 2: Punch You in the Eye: Standard. In the intro it sounds like Trey is saying Joe Horn a few times or something like that? Ghost: The first segment of this jam is so clean and raging, I love it. Around the 12 minute mark it shifts into a fast paced funk jam featuring some crazy sounds from Page. 18 and a half Fishman just screaming as Trey burns Lakewood to the ground, absolutely incendiary! The chill jam at the end is truly great. The effects at the very end (Frankenstein esque) work perfectly to transition into > Sample in a Jar: Standard. You Enjoy Myself: Absolutely nuts with all the klezmer stuff and yelling/screaming – pure chaos! Goofy stuff like this was commonplace in European winter and summer tours -> Rocky Mountain Way Jam: Fun stuff right here. > Chalk Dust Torture: Standard, it smokes. ENCORE: Frankenstein – Standard. Replay Value: Julius, Split Open and Melt, Possum, Ghost, You Enjoy Myself Summary: Another monster show. That Ghost is very special, an all timer and many consider it the best version they have ever played. This shows is most definitely a barnburner. : Phish. Net has it at 4.542/5 (260 ratings) – I have no qualms with that – top notch stuff.
, attached to 1997-07-22

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Runaway Jim: Strong Jim and the funk jam that is at the end and segues very well into… -> My Soul: Standard. Water in the Sky: Standard. Stash: Solid version. Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. Vultures: Standard. Big crack of thunder at the end. Bye Bye Foot: Tough for me to put into words how much I adore this Bye Bye Foot. Embarrassed to admit how many times I have listened to this one and watched the video. Literally perfect. Trey's big grin when Fish's lyrics start. 1:02. That knowing smile from Fishman when Trey takes the reigns, major goosebumps man. Trey's big grin when Fish's lyrics start. 1:02. Trey’ shoulder bend at 2:13. Love it so much. Taste: Thunder going nuts as Page starts an incredibly spirited solo! Trey has a great solo, but it pales in comparison to what Page threw down. This version is one for the ages. SET 2: Down with Disease: I really like where this one lands in the late 14’s with Mike going off and Page leaning hard on the synth. Things go on to get mostly funky and a little bluesy until this unbelievable segue… -> Mike's Song: Ferocious as one would expect and then goes into deep outer space, this is an awesome version! Trey eventually finds an ascending theme that Mike piggybacks on nicely. > Simple: Short and sweet, segues nicely into… -> I Am Hydrogen: Standard. > Weekapaug Groove: Trey rooting Page on when he takes this one to Funky Town, lol. I love the theme that Mike creates around the 5 minute mark and Trey jumps on it rather quickly. Pretty strong version but not necessarily one I would recommend or seek out for future consumption. Hello My Baby: Standard. ENCORE: When the Circus Comes - > Harry Hood: Kind of wish this one would have peaked a little harder, but the jam is very, very good. Mike is so prominent in the mix! As an encore, this was fantastic and a wonderful cap to an outstanding show. Replay Value: Bye Bye Foot, Taste, Down with Disease, Mike's Song Summary: Kind of two short sets, weather obviously played a factor in at least the first sets length. Nice, long encore though. Great show and I absolutely agree with Phish.net’s rating of 4.55/5 (340 ratings). It’s a legendary show and there is a good reason why this was released as a DVD on Phish Dry Goods.
, attached to 1990-05-13

Review by thelot

thelot Ok SBD source with some flaws. The pitch is a hair sharp and the levels are super hot for the first set. The quality seems to improve a little for the 2nd set. The pitch is corrected and the levels are lowered so the vocals aren’t quite as saturated. Bathtub Gin cuts in to open the show. After Jim Trey says “as usual we’re gonna dedicate this next song to Possessed, one of the greatest living Rock and Roll bands.” “A lot of Possessed fans out there, huh?” Fish says “Do any of you even know who Possessed is?” “Go buy Seven Churches, either that or Burning in Hell, that’s a song on Seven Churches.” lol Really nice Sky tonight! Lawn Boy provides a nice cool down before an intriguing Bowie closer. Good stuff! Groove delivers the goods! Nice versions of Foam and Donna Lee follow. Tweezer is magnificent tonight! Reba features some beautiful playing from Trey. Fantastic version! Nice solo from Trey in Bitch. The Possum set closer has some cool Norwegian Wood teasing.
, attached to 1999-04-16

Review by RunawayJim4180

RunawayJim4180 Having attended Fare Thee Well and several Dead & Co shows over the last 8 years, I keep returning to these shows as the quintessential post-Dead incarnation. Trey and Kimock have outstanding chemistry throughout, Molo is a beast on drums, Phil is on point both vocally (yes, really) and on bass as per usual, and Page really shines on baby grand. The Franklin's Tower from this show is the best version any band associated with the Dead has played besides Jerry & Co. themselves. An absolute rainbow of sound from start to finish.
, attached to 1997-07-21

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Ghost: Awesome, intense version. Unlike many from Europe, this one is laser focused. You can tell the band was very intent on showing off for the US contingent, they were not messing around. Tons of shredding and intentional playing here. All timer version to open the show that opened the tour. Think they meant business??? Over the last two and a half decades I have often wondered what seasoned fans that had not heard any of the tapes from the two 97 European tours that attended this show - what was their reaction? Because the band in many ways reinvented themselves. > Dogs Stole Things: Standard. > Piper: Standard. Dirt: Standard. Ginseng Sullivan: Standard. > Bathtub Gin: The 2 and a half minutes of Drowned type jamming is exquisite! Killer all time jam. Trey introducing the new songs while everyone continues to play is great and the banter is funny. > Character Zero: Ripped up the front and down the back. SET 2: Wolfman's Brother: The funk is strong here as the US contingent of the fan base gets their first funky version. Very strong jam and likely a bit underrated. -> Magilla: Killer segue out of Wolfman’s. Trey and Page take turns taking solos. Awesome version. > David Bowie: Smoking hot Bowie. Why this isn’t jam charted is beyond me. This one is a must hear version. They keep it interesting throughout it’s 18 or so minutes. I love this version and would highly recommend it. The Birdland stuff in the intro is so, so choice. Trey gives the David part of the David Bowie a couple of different names in the intro. Wading in the Velvet Sea: Beautiful. Theme From the Bottom: Standard, until… -> Jam: Chaos, just pure chaos. Doesn’t translate to tape. > Funky Bitch: Fun with LeRoi. Slave to the Traffic Light: Brilliant version, an all timer. Strong, strong climax. ENCORE: Loving Cup – Rip roaring closer. Replay Value: Bathtub Gin, Magilla, David Bowie, Slave to the Traffic Light Absolutely killer show, huge, huge highlights. Many tunes that did not make my replay value list were played exceptionally well too. I think the current Phish.net rating of 4.571/5 (359 ratings) is right on the money.
, attached to 1990-05-11

Review by thelot

thelot Fantastic audience recording available for this show. It sounds like a digital recording but a Sony D5 is listed as the recording deck. Big thanks to John Redmond! The northeastern swing has had some great recordings! A solid Mike’s Groove opens things up with a blistering Groove. Possum rages! Another fantastic version of Reba tonight. This slams right into a Highway to Hell closer. Set 2 cuts into Oh Kee Pa. It sounds like Trey is teasing something at the start of the Bag jam? Solid Tweezer. Introduced again as Tweezer so Cold. An amusing Love You has (Frank/Henrietta/Friar Tuck) introducing the band by first name only. A rippin’ GXBX closes out set 2. The encore features a nice A-Train and a humorous BBFCFM.
, attached to 1997-07-11

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Chalk Dust Torture: Standard. Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. Stash: Definitely not a standard version as this one takes the long road clocking in at 16:25. The jam is fine but nothing to my ear in particular stands out and this is a peak less version. Those two factors combine to keep it off my own personal jam chart and seemingly Phish.net’s jam chart as well. Beauty of My Dreams: Standard. Wolfman's Brother: Searing loop laid down around 9:10, nice. Things get very funky and stop/startish after this. About three minutes later this morphs into a heavy, hard rocking jam, very cool. Trey ripping it up big time! They set the segue up very well you can hear it coming but then they cannot quite figure out how to make it work and it sort of slams into… > Johnny B. Goode: Standard. > You Enjoy Myself: Funky and fun. ENCORE: Character Zero - Replay Value: Wolfman’s Brother – really an awesome version, I would highly recommend seeking this one! A hidden gem in a completely overlooked show. Summary: Better than most festival sets I can think of, actually has plenty of jamming. Love this Wolfman’s. If you are a hard core fan of Stash, it’s probably worth a listen. The current rating on Phish.net is 3.256/5 (43 ratings) – that feels slightly lower than what I would like to see. I would be good at 3.4 out of 5.
, attached to 1997-07-10

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Dogs Stole Things: Standard. Limb By Limb: Standard. Ginseng Sullivan: Standard. Bathtub Gin: LOL Trey comes back in too early with lyrics while Page is banging away on the piano. I dig the weird time signature part that transitions into that muddy heavy metal jam. From here this bad boy goes into deep space, loops and Page leaning heavy on the synth. Trey getting very funky. Gets back to Gin proper and then another space jam. Strong enough version. Very good, not great or all time. > Llama: Very funky after the final refrain, Page leaning hard on the synth. Gets quite dark, sounds like they could go for the Wormtown jam in here. Gets very, very spacy and then those familiar loops emerge that can only mean one thing… -> Wading in the Velvet Sea: Jam: Very funky and bluesy. Sounds like it came straight out of a soundcheck, nice and loose. Lizards climax played at half speed is sick! Olivia's Pool SET 2: Also Sprach Zarathustra: Very funny banter in the intro. Big time first peak. Really fun version. > Julius: This Julius features a sort of blues breakdown that they take way down low and almost to a silent jam, then explode from there. They take it to where you think the normal ending would be, kind of blow through that into some weirdness and then an exceptional segue into… -> Magilla: Mike’s solo is beyond sick and really tells demonstrates how he will sound with the band moving forward throughout 1997. Loud and out front. Lots of false endings. Fun version! Ya Mar: Great fun. Trey dictating which duets should be taken via which instruments is highly entertaining. -> Ghost: Standard. -> Take Me to the River: Funk > Rage. Super fun jam to round out this set. Don’t be fooled by the time stamp on this one – it’s roughly 10 and a half minutes. ENCORE: Funky Bitch – Rollicking good time, love the Gin tease from the trumpet player, very well done! Replay Value: Bathtub Gin, Llama, Jam, Also Sprach Zarathustra, Julius, Magilla, Ya Mar, Take Me to the River Summary: Once again, I think the rating on Phish.net does a great job of how good this show is, it truly is a classic show. Very loose and very fun. Not something you could ever expect to see in the US. 4.427/5 (110 ratings)
, attached to 1997-07-09

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Punch You in the Eye: Standard. Trey botches some lyrics and laughs it off. > Prince Caspian: This is a jam charts version but outside of Page’s pretty piano solo I don’t hear much that is noteworthy here. Ginseng Sullivan: Standard. Split Open and Melt: Cool, funky intro from Trey. Very funky as the jam opens up too. In the late 6’s – believe it or not – they take this into major chord territory, although it’s kind of brief. Actually, Trey stays in it for a good while, but the rest of the band does not. Works pretty well though! By 9 minutes it’s back to its’ minor chord, dirty, old self. Instead of the typical tension building, this one gets into funk mode around the 11 minute mark. Not too long after this it meanders to the finish line. Kind of disappointing. Dirt: Gorgeous. Absolutely crushed. Taste: Page is great in his section. But Trey… Um, I am speechless. That is a clinic. Absolutely murders this one. Jaw on floor. All timer. Crowd is thrilled after this. Wow!!!!!!!! Sweet Adeline: Standard. Harry Hood: Severely underrated version. Would highly recommend!! All the banter after the climax is must hear stuff, very funny. SET 2: Down with Disease: Where’s Pierre? Absolute hell fire, holy machine gun Trey – WOW > My Soul: Again, hell fire. Not sure what they got into at set break, but it resulted in very, very aggressive playing. > Cars Trucks Buses: Page crushes it. You Enjoy Myself: The DWD tease after the first note is super cool. Trey destroys the note, very impressive. Béla Fleck, Jeff Coffin, Roy “Futureman” Wooten, and Victor Wooten show up and the crowd goes nuts! What transpires from here, no need to review. It’s unbelievable, you need to hear it for yourself or if you already, have – perhaps you are due for a refresher. No way to rate this YEM, pure chaos and awesomeness. You must listen to this one. They do catch a nice groove during Jeff Coffin’s piece. During Bela’s piece, the groove Trey and Bela catch together, and the trade off’s is utterly sick. Bela and Trey remain ridiculously hooked up for many minutes in a row. Hard to believe until you hear it, just two amazing musicians that were completely on the same wavelength. -> Trane To Conamarra Jam: Exceptional, like these guys play together all the time -> Ghost: On the Relisten app, Ghost doesn’t actually start until about 3:10. Trey counts it off once and then again about 20 seconds later. The Victor/Mike jam is pretty sweet. This just devolves into a ‘noise jam’ and then into > Poor Heart: Great picking in this one. Lot’s of false endings where everyone gets a solo turn and then Trey leads a Pierre chant. LOL. ENCORE: Hello My Baby: Replay Value: Taste, Harry Hood, Down with Disease, You Enjoy Myself, Trane To Conamarra Summary: Great show! Taste and YEM are all timers but don’t sleep on Hood and DWD! A show I have listened to many times over the years and will continue to revisit. I think the current Phish.net rating of 4.383/5 is right on the money!
, attached to 1991-05-19

Review by Mrwilson

Mrwilson This was my first show. I went to Canterbury school and I think the tickets were 10 bucks. Someone from the school Just dropped us off in a van. The show was in a big field. Think the stage was a flatbed trailer. Hundreds of prep school kids and a small but noticeable number of Burlington types willing to drive down to Connecticut for a free show. There were a bunch of us playing frisbee for the first set. Great vibe. The possum encore is what hooked me. I’m writing this review on the 32 anniversary of that show.
, attached to 1990-05-10

Review by thelot

thelot Beautiful SBD recording available for this show! A good amount of the room is mixed in. Unfortunately, there are some flaws in the first set. Things kick off with a crowd pleasing Suzy opener. Little miscue to start Uncle Pen. At the start of Bouncin’ the sound drops from the left channel. The right channel has a lot more of the room mixed in. The quality improves during the ‘Gus the Christmas Dog’ section of Sky. Solid Tweezer. I’m really enjoying these early Tweezer jams. The quality changes again at the start of Gin. A raging Possum closes a very short first set. Set 2 kicks off with Bitch. Jim seems a bit off to start but recovers nicely. Great versions of Hood, Caravan and Reba!! :::Chef’s Kiss::: Solid Bag. Due to time constraints the band went with a GXBX closer. The encore features Henrietta once again performing a hilarious version of Whipping Post to close out the evening.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2023  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode