, attached to 2003-12-28

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]David Bowie:[/b] love this as an opener. The intro is great and the jam actually gets very exploratory for a while (type 1.5?) but returns for the usual peak and ending [b]Sample In A Jar:[/b] great Trey [b] Tweezer:[/b] early entering of the freezer. Awesome build and peak before breaking free into mellow type 2 territory. [b]Bouncing Around The Room:[/b] standard [b]AC/DC Bag:[/b] solid version with another good peak [b]Frankie Says:[/b] I love this song. Extended outro leads to an unexpected beautiful type 2 journey that builds then settles down before Fish starts [b]Llama:[/b] sick extended performance [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Love You:[/b] Henrietta! Doesn’t know the words [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Tweezer Reprise: [/b]unusual placement to close set one [b]Gotta Jibboo: [/b]second set starts with a fantastic Jibboo take on the type 1 build and peak [b]Suzy Greenburg:[/b] rare type 2 version. First few minutes give major 1997 cow funk vibes. After the next verse Trey launches the band into immediate heavy exploration. Sort of like a Mike’s Song style first and second jam. Eventually it gets quiet with nice Page synthing in the background to add spaciness and Mike adds some Bass and it starts to grow. Trey teases Lizards. Masterpiece [b]Theme From The Bottom:[/b] pretty average [b]Water In The Sky: [/b]cool little mid set cool off with the Everglades line getting a crowd roar [b]Friday:[/b] still don’t get why this song was shelved. Placement could be better but good song [b]Harry Hood:[/b] hot mike action in the intro. Starts to feel like its gonna break free for a minute but soon gets back in for the gorgeous peak and finishing of the set [b]Sleeping Monkey:[/b] standard [b]Loving Cup:[/b] rager to close out the show This is a very solid show to start the Miami NYE run. This first set has some amazing moments of exploration and energy, and the same in the second. The jamming in both sets is spectacular, but the Suzy is freaking glorious. This is a 8.5/10 show. Highlights are Bowie, Tweezer, Frankie, Suzy, and Hood
, attached to 1995-12-09

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Maze:[/b] I love what Trey does with the note bending at the start of his section; it gives a creepy vibe. This might be my all time favorite version. Great way to start the show [b]Theme From The Bottom:[/b] these guys are locked in. The one two punch is performed flawlessly and this Theme is the perfect length [b]NICU: [/b]standard [b]The Sloth:[/b] standard [b] Rift:[/b] lightning fast. No flubs (aka 1995) [b]Bouncing Around The Room:[/b] standard [b]Free:[/b] I love these 1995-1996 Frees. The jedi/percussion Trey jam is sick [b]Billy Breathes:[/b] gorgeous [b]Dog Faced Boy:[/b] lil calm before the storm [b]Chalk Dust Torture:[/b] some high energy raging to end the first set (storm) [b]Timber:[/b] exploratory but type 1 version to start the second set [b]Wilson:[/b] some samples in the intro I don’t recognize, otherwise average [b]Gumbo:[/b] nice jam before Page’s solo [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] woah. After the tramps Trey starts playing around and we’re type 2. Later on Trey switches to percussion and we get some Mike action. There’s a funk section with great Page, and it gets very quiet, then powers back up into normal YEM territory > vocal jam. Beast. No bass+drums so I am sad. [b]Lawn Boy:[/b] cool little treat [b]Slave To The Traffic Light: [/b]magnificent build. Great version [b]Crossroads: [/b]Trey’s voice is messed up but it's all good. Love this cover [b]Sweet Adeline:[/b] little acapella to end the set [b]Loving Cup:[/b] nice closer, with Page and Trey standing out Solid show at the back end of the last mega Phish tour. The one two punch to start is awesome and they nail some compositions and the jam in YEM is spectacular and even a hint of cow funk to come in 1997. This is an 8/10 show. Highlights are Maze, Theme, YEM, and Slavel.
, attached to 2024-02-23

Review by mattybweston

mattybweston Hmmm - Four full days later and still no review for this seminal night. Maybe that's because @laudanum and @scissortail summed it up nicely in the blog reviews for Nights 3 & 4. This show/seismic event found itself worthy of discussion the next night by Trey himself in the lyrics to Chalk Dust Torture Reprise. And why not? The first set is loosey goosey yet still finds moments to dive into the effects laden jamming that will undoubtedly define this run and possibly the next year or more. 46 Days briefly divebombs into it but pulls up, KDF leans in hard for the last five minutes or so. Perhaps a harbinger for what is lurking after setbreak. And eleven minutes into the Blaze On opener it feels like 2024 Evil Phish has arrived again - only to be ripchorded (ripriffed?) for CDT. And it is a glorious, multi-sectional CDT even BEFORE the earth opens up and swallows it at minute 22ish. Waves and waves of thick effects, pitch divebombs, growling rumble, synth corkscrews and tom rolling, cymbal crashing madness. And then.... well, if the video is still up, at 28:38 we reach sublime chaos at its apex and an inexplicable moment of musical hive mind. Trey mashes his expression pedal and what many folks have described as the "bubble effect" explodes into the Mexican night. It is out of left field, overbearing, and could have devolved the jam into ambient weirdness, but everyone adjusts - Trey starts a call/response with the effect, Fish finds the rhythm and mimics it with his China cymbal. It just shouldn't work, but of course it does, and it elevates the jam and sends it racing to a massive peak of power chording. At 30:00 in the video we humble viewers are presented with incontrovertible evidence that this new noise rock movement is here to stay - Trey's maniacal smile as he leans into that expression pedal over and over, bobbing his head, eyes cast to the floor. The rest of the show? It was good/great Phishing - Hood has an excellent bliss peak and Zero never disappoints. It looks like 2024 will be another titanic shift for the band - think '97 more groove/less peak meets the highlights of the oxy years ('04 SPAC Piper comes to mind) meets an expert command of a new cache of effects from both Trey and Page. I can't wait to see what CK5 can do with this new direction with the mother grid and his full lighting rig.
, attached to 1999-09-11

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Tube:[/b] good choice for opener. Pretty short for this era but still fun [b]Funky Bitch:[/b] slow tempo raging [b]Limb By Limb:[/b] solid [b]Dogs Stole Things:[/b] standard [b]Punch You In The Eye:[/b] big ol intro with extra plunking from Trey [b]Billy Breathes:[/b] beautiful Trey solo [b]Heavy Things: [/b]debut [b]Guyute:[/b] flawless [b]Free:[/b] unusual set closer. Trey gets real heavy on this one [b]Wolfman’s Brother:[/b] first type 2 jam of the show to start the second set. Lots of cowbell from Fish. Things get spacey and dissonant and after a while they start up [b]Sand:[/b] debut. Nothing too special as Fish and Mike do the same exact thing for 18 minutes straight, but the peak is nice [b]Meatstick:[/b] unlike Sand, this gets type 2. But we quickly get a perfect transition into [b]Maze:[/b] fantastic version with Page’s section getting a lot of fun action [b]Prince Caspian:[/b] pretty and extended intro [b]Harry Hood:[/b] really awesome performance with the peak lasting a long time. Great set closer [b]When The Circus Comes:[/b] I have nothing against this song but it’s a disappointing one and done encore situation here Really solid night 2 at the Gorge. A couple notable debuts and the jamming in Wolfman’s and Meatstick is good, but leaves me wanting more. But the second set is a fantastic one if you aren’t looking for a lot of type 2. This is a 7.5/10 show. Highlights are Free and the entire second set
, attached to 1998-11-25

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Punch You In The Eye:[/b] great opener [b]My Soul:[/b] raging [b]Roggae:[/b] beautiful jam [b]AC/DC Bag:[/b] stays type 1 but the peak is tremendous. Very good version [b]Lifeboy:[/b] nicely placed cooldown after the Bag peak [b]David Bowie:[/b] super creepy long intro. Stays along the normal Bowie build for a while then gets exploratory before finding the usual ending [b]Sleep:[/b] Trey on acoustic guitar [b]Driver:[/b] acoustically standard [b]Good Times Bad Times:[/b] fantastic cover to close the first set. Extra juice on this one [b]2001:[/b] ultra space alien intro and the dance party begins. Awesome version [b]Golgi Apparatus:[/b] strange placement [b]Drowned:[/b] first type 2 jam of the night. Gets quiet and after a couple minutes Trey leads into [b]Prince Caspian:[/b] stays type 1 but some great Trey shredding [b]Piper:[/b] unfortunately coda ending [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] great funk that leads right into the vocal jam. No bass+drums means I'm sad. Vocal jam is nice though [b]Been Caught Stealing:[/b] love this cover. Tramps again [b]Llama:[/b] rare closer. Trey going off here [b]Something:[/b] the last time this was played. Shame [b]Guyute:[/b] played perfectly [b]Free Bird:[/b] yes Solid show but not one of the best from Fall 1998. Only type 2 jam is the last couple minutes of Drowned but other than that it’s pretty bleak. This is a 6.5/10 show. Highlights are Bowie, GTBT, 2001, Drowned, and YEM
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by andrewrose

andrewrose If this show is any harbinger of things to come in 2024, look out below. If you're anything like me, you're still trying to figure out how Phish managed to sound as good as they did in 2021, and have spent the last couple years chasing those highs, to mixed results. Some incredible moments peppered 22-23 no doubt, but a lot of tricks and tropes that were starting to feel pretty familiar and homogenous. Was the band distracted by the lead up to the big Gamehendge show? Was it just the ebb and flow of improvisation, putting on big shows, the toll of touring, and getting on in age? How long can they keep this up? Well I don't know the answer to that question, but this show, the first two set affair of 2024 following Gamehendge, certainly makes it feel like a stupid question to be worrying about. From Birds through Bug this is band that sounds rested, revived, and ready to dig deeper. Centering it is a 35 minute Wave of Hope that immediately puts all the big long jams of recent years on notice. I'm not one that typically gets seduced by a long run time. In fact I've tended to find a lot of them meandering and uninteresting for long stretches. (Give me the flawless and engaging 18 minute 4/23/23 Cities over the bloated 30 minuted Fuego from 7/29/23 any day.) This isn't one of those. It's engaging from the outset and weaves through various themes effortlessly, never lingering too long, and showcasing each member at their best. While the jam has numerous highlights, I'd argue it's the stretch around the 23-24 minute mark (coming out of a this crunchy noise rock that @MattBWeston has rightly highlighted in his review as an important hallmark of this emerging era). Some on the forum have been referring to it as the 'So What' section for the brief counterpoint of notes Trey hangs on as he weaves the theme here. I'm not sure how apropos that is—it's a stretch. But the jam segment and Trey's run of licks here is not. This does not sound like a man about to turn 60 in September. He sounds more like the guy who destroyed the Grey Hall in Copenhagen in 1998, and the Warfield in April 99 with Phil and Friends. The almost reggae-like atmospheric denouement of the jam must have felt pretty sweet indeed on the beach in Mexico. Gorgeous soulful notes to close it out and land in what may the band's grooviest offering of Oblivion to date. It may not be the most exploratory or long version they've done, but if you want another sign that the band is feeling fresh and inspired, hear what Page has to say about what 'awaits.' Page's reemergence in the sound here may be the most promising development on display. Here we're getting echoes of what made 2021 such an incredibly strong year—with Page engaged and challenging for space the whole sound just blows open. Mike and Fish can stretch and punctuate and groove with more ease. Easy oblivion. There's plenty to chew on on either side of this centerpiece. The 15 minute Tweezer is no slouch by any stretch, pulling together a lot of the better moves from '23 but condensed into a much more efficient and engaging vehicle, again with inspired licks and lines. It's telling how good a show this is that it may not be the first or even third jam mentioned here. How about that 20 minute Birds in the first set? Fresh, gnarly and noisy. (The only knock here maybe the forced reentry to the Birds theme to close.) Axilla gets it first extended treatment since April 22, this one a perfect showpiece for the noisy satanic set closer they've been enjoying unleashing lately. And while it may not have insane replay value, I don't think anyone is going to complain about a 4th quarter Tube->Jim->Tube. Bug is a beautiful closer to a beautiful performance here, and a nice counterpoint to an absolutely ripping Roggae in the first set that I'd be remiss to not mention, given the DNA the songs seem share. So what's the verdict, is this show a sign of things to come in 2024, another rebirth that makes it easy not to think about the past? It doesn't matter!
, attached to 1991-03-08

Review by thelot

thelot Decent audience recording. Not too far off from the master. Things kick off with Golgi. They follow this up with a fantastic version of YEM. This version has one of the wildest vocal jams to date. “STOP IT!!” lol This pairs perfectly with Fluffhead. Inspired playing from Trey during Stash. Inspired Suzy with Stairway to Heaven and Auld Lang Syne teases. Solid Split Open. Coil has a pretty little outro. At the start of MSO the band invites some members of ARU to the stage. Jimmy Herring adds some fire runs to MSO. Tweezer is freakin’ siiick!!! Full on DEG tease during this demented jam! A wild BBFCFM follows suit. Unfortunately, the tape cuts about 2 minutes in. :( The rest of the show is lost to Phishtory… Thank goodness somebody taped this little gem! Thank you mystery taper!
, attached to 2012-08-28

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Punch You In The Eye:[/b] fantastic opener choice. Fish has a little trouble early but otherwise pretty solid [b]Runaway Jim:[/b] pretty average [b]Ocelot:[/b] weird choice as they had just played this at the show before, but great soloing from Trey here [b]Reba:[/b] some minor hiccups in the compositions but the jam is gorgeous as always [b]I Didn’t Know: [/b]John Sullen Melancholy folks [b]The Curtain:[/b] how dare they. Curtain With is my favorite Phish song and they rob me of it. Shame, but to be fair the jam is highly similar to Reba so I understand holding off [b]Peaches En Regalia:[/b] good substitute for with, I love this cover [b]Mound:[/b] standard [b]Sample In A Jar: [/b]standard goods [b]The Sloth:[/b] nice treat. After experiencing the gamehendge 2023 version in person I always picture the Sloth walking sloooowly across the stage. Hilarious [b]Camel Walk:[/b] mixing in some funk. Love it [b]Possum:[/b] quick but powerful version [b]Quinn The Eskimo:[/b] another all time cover to end the first set [b]Chalk Dust Torture:[/b] starts the second set with the usual fiery Trey solo, but instead of ending the song they take it out into a cool mellow type 2 jam with Fish keeping a Frankie Says like groove in the background [b]Frankie Says:[/b] speak of the devil. I really enjoy this song as a mid second set cooldown. 70 show gap. Mike action and the start of an exploratory jam but before too much can happen Trey finds [b]Undermind:[/b] the last performance before the historic Dicks version. More Mike greatness and similar to Frankie gets out there at the end but after teasing it for a while in comes [b]Sand:[/b] type 1 rendition that goes into Walk Away right from the coda ending [b]Walk Away:[/b] awesome Trey in this mid set rager [b]Limb By Limb:[/b] as the jam starts Trey lets out some beautiful whale calls and we’re type 2 which is extremely rare for this song. Trey quickens the tempo after a while and the jam morphs into a more upbeat groove that grows to a spectacular peak and dips back into the typical Limb By Limb ending. Really intelligent and creative stuff here [b]Julius:[/b] another great Trey solo [b]2001:[/b] after a spacey outro in Julius, Fish starts the dance party. Pretty short with not much to talk about, but always welcome [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] played flawlessly and I am still bass+drums biggest fan [b]Shine A Light:[/b] nice cover to close out the show Solid indoor night from one of the most important tours of Phish’s career. The jamming in CDT and Limb By Limb is really great and there’s some fun treats in the first set. This is a 6/10 show. Highlights are Reba, Chalk Dust, Frankie Says, Undermind, Limb By Limb, and YEM
, attached to 2024-02-21

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, WEDNESDAY 02/21/2024 MOON PALACE Cancun, Quintana Roo, Mexico SET 1: Back on the Train: Standard. The Moma Dance: Standard. > Down with Disease[1] - Standard > If I Could: When this came on I wanted to skip it. These past few years it’s criminal how Trey plays this tune – just strumming his way through the solo and don’t get me started on the vibrato, makes me want to puke. But in this one he does actually take a nice solo and injects life into a song that I used to love. Everything's Right: Standard. Halfway to the Moon: Standard. Stash: Standard. Alaska: Standard. Destiny Unbound: Nicely jammed!! Ocelot: Standard. Julius: Standard. Sand: Standard. > Life Saving Gun: Standard. ENCORE: The Mango Song: Very touching that they played this for Ellie. RIP. Carini: Standard. Summary: I guess I don’t understand the concept of a warm up show. Would rate as a 2.5/5. Replay Value: None. Maybe Destiny? [1] Unfinished. Lyrics changed to "dancing on my beach." Down with Disease was unfinished and its lyrics were changed to "dancing on my beach." Trey dedicated The Mango Song to Ellie, a young fan who had recently passed away. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 3/5 (
, attached to 2024-02-24

Review by destinynubound

destinynubound Respectively, this show should be closer to a 4.5 than a 4 for a multitude of reasons. Not the least of which is the fact that both sets contain strong but patient jams. An 18-minute Simple seamlessly into Sanity before busting out a more than timely Chalk Dust Torture Reprise? It's been played only what 5 times? And hasn't been played since the pandemic? WOW!!! More than good placement following the previous night's exploring of Chalk Dust Torture but who saw this coming? And coming in the first set too? Many phans noticed that CDT wasn't finished but that's not unusual. Even if you did call this to happen in the show, I don't believe that you called it to happen in the midway into first set. This is another great example of the unexpected that this run produced. With a beautiful Wolfman's inspired by a full moon with teases of a Howling to come in the second set 2. A long and well-built Bathtub that transitioned cleanly into Cavern? This is just the first set... A well placed and fitting Howling under a fully moon to open the second set isn't anything to write home about but certainly added to the magic and crowd interaction of the night. Then three concurrent Jam's including a sandwich with No Man's > Ruby > Golden > Ruby? What a journey that was. The set not only maintains its structure with a well-executed Twist but closes out strong with an energetic Possum. The encore opening More was not transformative but not bad either. The real hero is this Jamed out 2001 > Slave to punctuate what will arguably be the best Phish Mexico run ever and is certainly the best Phish Mexico run to have happened yet. The fact they produced not just one but three shows worth of a 4.5 is absolutely phenomenal. I'm so grateful to have been present and witnessed this run down here. I've seen this band enough times to know this was a special run and this was an unexpectedly great show from that run. I don't care what anyone else says it's worthy of a 4.5 or being rounded up to it. Def not a 4.
, attached to 1991-03-01

Review by thelot

thelot Not the best SBD source for this show. The pitch is a hair slow for set 1 and set 2 is at chipmunk speed. Also, there’s a lot of annoying cuts throughout the first set. Sounds like a Cass/3 or so. Although there’s pitch issues it’s still listenable. The audio quality to start is horrendous. Possibly a loose cable? Wilson cuts out and starts back up about a minute in with much better sound. Really nice Sky. Page’s Coil solo fades out. Tape flip? The recording picks back up at the start of a decent Tweezer jam. Strong Groove to close set 1. Set 2 kicks off with Golgi/Landlady. The chipmunk speed of the tape made for entertaining versions of Reba, Llama, Jim and Possum. The band jams out on Whole Lotta Love again during Fish’s vac solo in Love You. Decent Bowie set closer. Oh Kee Pah>Suzy wrapped up the evening on a high note.
, attached to 2023-07-16

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Buried Alive:[/b] the best way to start a Phish show [b]Wilson:[/b] first one in a while with an extended middle section, pretty normal otherwise [b]NICU:[/b] standard [b]Bathtub Gin:[/b] great version that builds then breaks type 2, but stays high energy and finds its way to a peak and back into the song to end. Really good [b]Gumbo:[/b] nice Page clav before the usual piano ending [b] Limb By Limb:[/b] some problems with flubs, but the jam is solid [b]The Well:[/b] debut.This song fucks. It’s always fun to see the 1.0 oldheads get pissed and then realize its great and evil. Nothing notable yet here [b]Mountains In The Mist:[/b] I love this song so much. One of the best cooldown options for the second set, or in this case after The Evil Well [b]Halfway To The Moon:[/b] played well (haha get it?) [b]Split Open And Melt:[/b] (watch this) well, we still need more evil Phish (get it?), so SOAMelt is gonna close this first set. Very strange, spacey, exploratory, and a good example of what they’re going for with these 4.0 melts. [b]Mike’s Song:[/b] sick 1st jam and we go into [b]Carini: [/b]type 2 jam starts with Your Pet Cat teases and has the typical 2022-2023 Trey build and peak but instead of ending they break free again into more evil spacier territory. This section is really good. But it doesn’t last too long as Trey finds another peak, better this time, and he finds the route back into Carini to end it off [b]Weekapaug Groove:[/b] slight issue finding the tempo, but they do after a bit, and the jam gets funky immediately. Unusual ending but other than that pretty average version [b]Sand:[/b] another type 2 journey here, has a really nice Trey and Page section early on, Mike has some fun later as they get back to the Sand theme to finish [b]Reba[/b]: perhaps a hint of what’s to come in the encore? Composed parts are mostly played well and the jam is gorgeous as always [b]More:[/b] some people hate it, I think it’s a good closer [b]The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia: [/b]let Fish cook [b]Hold Your Head Up: [/b]hilarious [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] first performance in Georgia since 2003. Quick encore rendition, but still fun and I live for bass+drums Very fun show to end the run in Alpharetta. The Well debut, along with the rest of the first set is great. Second set has some solid type 2 jamming in Carini and Sand. Encore is spectacular. This is a 8/10. Highlights are Gin, SOAMelt, Carini, Sand, Reba, TNTLWOIG>HYHU, and YEM
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by TweezingSpaceRanger

TweezingSpaceRanger This is an awesome show. I can’t imagine how cool it would’ve been to be hearing this on the beach. Top show ever? No. Great listening experience the day after? Yes. That being said. It’s time to bring ratings back. I propose we are able to custom vote down to .1 increments just for the sake of how interesting and accurate it could get. I give this show a solid 4.2 in the context of 3-4.0 phish. In all of phish it might be a 3.8. As a live experience? Probably a 5.0
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by mattybweston

mattybweston Well well well.... I guess they shook off those island vibes about midway through the first set. From BOAF onward it was faceplant into noise rock. And as an unjaded vet, I'm starting to feel my fandom at a crossroads. I've been around for multiple Phish eras - early goofball madness, compositional hose, cow funk, segue city, Y2K Big Cypress mountaintop, the denouement to the breakup, the return, peak city, bliss peak city, and dad rock bliss peak city. As the shows of 2023 piled up, it seemed like we might be shifting gears again. SOAM has been the canary in the coalmine - morphing into an all out atonal sonic assault that shakes your rib cage when seen live. The ethos of those SOAMs has been slipping into the longform jamming of many tunes later into 2023 - a guitar effects and synthesizer driven cacophony that can go on and on. On the forums it seems like many, but not all, are raving about this new style. Personally, it makes me feel...... old. In the future we may look back at this very show and say this was the moment that Phish went all in on noise rock. Portions BOAF, Axilla II and Oblivion as well as a long stretch of a 35 minute Wope are minutes upon minutes of reverse echo feedback, guitar and synth pitch divebombs, squeaks and squelches. It is undoubtedly gutsy and has a ton of adventure and energy behind it. I'd say it goes deep but that doesn't really do it justice. It goes subterranean. And somewhere down there my fandom gets a bit rattled. I've considered myself, and all of us, as dancing flies on the wall watching an intimate musical conversation happening -composition in real time. Dynamic interplay between band members who fire off quick melody lines, agree on a direction and take us all with them. The noise rock of 2023-2024 feels a different animal. Melody, the band's common conversational language, seems to have been sidelined for raw, naked noise and power. And with that the concept of a groove over which to have the conversation has dwindled. While these ever more common noise rock sections could knock the fillings out of my teeth, it comes at the expense of the downbeat cow funk awesomeness that has been a jamming through line since 1997. I sense the "Okay Boomer" of that last sentence (or paragraph) so let me say this - you should absolutely listen to this show in its entirety. Up through My Soul the band feels engaged with a 2022 kinda vibe but a bit lethargic. Then from BOAF onward they are a blowtorch turning sand to glass in a way they've been leaning into more and more. If I could rate this show (which we can't) with 1/10th star increments (which we've never been able to do) I'd venture a 4.4 would do it justice.
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by YouEnjoyMyStash

YouEnjoyMyStash Was the 2nd set the best set of Phish ever? You decide. It sure felt like it down on the sand. Actually, from BoF on thru the end...I'll put that stretch up against any 2hr stretch of a show, any year. But what a ridiculous exercise, right? Its fun to compare, but a night like last night is a religious experience, beyond comparison The first set started off kind of disjointed to my ear. They started to gel in the Gumbo, and then from Birds on it was utter madness. That Axilla to end set 1.... It was absolute spaceship abduction. Trey lined us all up under the ufo hovercraft and sucked us all up. From the very opening notes of ASHITOS, it was clear they were going to destroy us. I can't believe the AWOH was 35 mins...time stopped for me, utter bliss danceparty. Oblivion brought the realness...Phish's climate justice anthem , so dark and surreal to hear it like that on the beach in MX. And then, the payoff...was it the hardest hitting Tweezer romp ever? it sure felt like it. It did not let up for a single moment. Reminded me of the 12/2/95 New Haven Tweezer in its length and intensity...Now I gotta go listen to both back to back to confirm which sub 16min Tweezer romps hardest.The transition back to the main theme was sooo smooth too. The Runaway Jim-Tube-Jim mashup was supreme danceparty Phish. Ridiculous crowd energy. Perfect way to close an epic set of music. And then for me, the perfect closer. An absolutely gorgeous Bug, and a top notch Reprise. Thank you Phish. Wow 4 star first set. 5 star second set. BOAF thru Reprise is all must hear Phish
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam I will go out on a limb and say this was the best Mexico show in recent memory, especially if you dig the deep jams. It really gets going with BOAF and Axilla at the end of the first set. But this show is all about the 2nd half. Strong jams in A wave of Hope and Tweezer, these things lifted off into the stratosphere and got pretty wild. Tube -> Jim -> Tube was a nice touch. and bug > tweezprize was a solid encore. Mexico shows are usually not shows we talk about and relisten to for years to come but i think some of these jams are worth revisiting. 2024 is going to kick ass I think. Rating for this show would be 4.25 for me
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by phish123

phish123 I’m not writing a review about this show but about the ratings on phish.net. Can we please bring them back so that we can once again rate shows? It was one of the best and most helpful parts of this site, especially for fans looking for which shows have stood out over time. I understand the ratings are somewhat flawed due to bias but it is what it is. Even with that bias in place, shows are still generally given the ratings they deserve as it mostly evens out in the end. The truth is, the flaws with ratings have been in place from the beginning. We saw it in a more pronounced way after 12/31/23 but the alternative of not having any ratings at all is certainly not a better option. Please let us continue to rate shows even if it isn’t an exact science. I think it would also be helpful to give the option of rating shows a 3.5 or 4.5 instead of just 1-5. I think I speak for many of us when I say that we’d love to have the ratings back and the site has not felt the same without it. Thank you.
, attached to 2024-02-21

Review by mattybweston

mattybweston A songy, one setter of mostly Type 1 material in Mexico? If the past is prologue, this warmup show doesn't stand a chance if/when the ratings come back online. But no matter, just press play at Halfway To The Moon and you've got yourself a typical good/great Set 1 of Phish. Destiny is well executed, twin brothers Alaska and Ocelot bring the dancy blues breaks, and Sand>LSG heaps on the energetic bombast. The Mango encore is for Ellie is just one of those moments that glue us all together. 3.8 with the discounts for one set feels about right.
, attached to 2024-02-21

Review by destinynubound

destinynubound 2.5? This is an absolutely horrible rating of this show. This more than good DWD > If I Could with a solid Everything’s Right into a more than respectable quality run with Stash, Alaska, Destiny Ocelot, followed later by a fun Sand and punchy Life Saving Gun make this show worth more than the garbage rating this show was unjustifiably given. 3.8 out of 5.
, attached to 2023-07-19

Review by MasonIsDumb

MasonIsDumb I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. . . . . . . .im still whet. .im still whet. . . . . . .im still whet. . . . . .im still whet.
, attached to 2024-02-21

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam A fun start to the Mexico run. They seem like they havent missed a beat since MSG. Disease, Halfway to the Moon and Life Saving gun were epic and deserve listens. One set shows can be tough to rank but in reality its 2 hrs plus of Phish so it should not be very hard. Cant rank anymore so ill give it here, this was a 3.6
, attached to 2000-07-12

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, WEDNESDAY 07/12/2000 DEER CREEK MUSIC CENTER Noblesville, IN SET 1: My Friend, My Friend[1] - Always welcome as a show opener. The Curtain With: Incredible bust out. Never saw this coming but I did know what it was when they went into the With part. Incredible, soaring jam out of this one. Best ever? Amazing either way and a very cool moment, glad I was there for this. Highly recommended. Tube: Fun jam! Place was on fire for this. > Heavy Things: You could hear Trey messing with some of this during Tube so no surprise when they started this one up. Billy Breathes: Standard. Beauty of My Dreams: Standard. > Free: Definitely a good jam here – tons of reverse reverb from Trey. They took this Free for a ride and it worked very well. Would recommend. Axilla[2]: Standard. The Squirming Coil: Might be the weakest Page solo I have heard in Coil. SET 2: Birds of a Feather: Standard. Piper: You can hear bits of that effect that Trey had been messing with this summer that became the centerpiece of the Piper at 9.27.00. Outside of that, this one is pretty much average. Crosseyed and Painless: Had been chasing this forever and was utterly thrilled when it started up. The ambient space jam the last 5 minutes are exceptional. Would recommend! > Prince Caspian: Standard. Hated this placement. > Meatstick: Standard. Hated this placement too. Trey mentions the 7k ticketless outside. “See you at Deer Creek next summer for our 7th straight summer” Yeah, not so much. Anyway - It’s like they just gave up after C&P. ENCORE: Wading in the Velvet Sea: Wow. Seriously? If I wouldn’t have been going to Columbus I would have been really bent out of shape. What a weak way to end this show. Summary: Weird show, really weird. Thought we were in for a heater after the first three tunes of the first set but after that it was almost all downhill. Birds and Piper were fun but nothing to really go crazy over. Crosseyed was awesome but they totally mailed it in after that. Ugh. The rating of 3.809/5 (>50 ratings) from Phish.net seems deadly accurate to me. Replay Value: The Curtain With, Crosseyed and Painless [1] Unfinished. [2] Contained Axilla II ending. My Friend was unfinished. Tube contained Super Bad teases from Trey. Trey teased San-Ho-Zay in Birds of a Feather and Piper. During Meatstick, Trey dedicated the song to the fans that didn’t get into the show. Curtain With was played for the first time since July 29, 1988 (1,184 shows). SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 3.809/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Tube, Birds of a Feather, Piper, Crosseyed and Painless TEASES Super Bad tease in Tube, San-Ho-Zay tease in Birds of a Feather, San-Ho-Zay tease in Piper
, attached to 2000-07-11

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, TUESDAY 07/11/2000 DEER CREEK MUSIC CENTER Noblesville, IN SET 1: Ya Mar: Great jam to open this one up! It’s nothing to out there or anything but they definitely fire up the 4 headed beast here. Trey and Fish, especially shine. The Moma Dance: Standard. Uncle Pen: Standard. Drowned: The last few minutes of this one is what set’s it apart from basically any version – totally bouncy and upbeat. Great theme that they set in place and run with it. If you can’t dance to this one then I am not sure what to tell you. Would recommend! Chalk Dust Torture Reprise: Woah, totally out of left field. It took me a beat or two but then I realized where I had heard this before. I used to listen to 12.10.94 a lot. That is where I had heard this before. What a riot this was! Would recommend for the unique aspect of it all. > Chalk Dust Torture: Standard. Theme From the Bottom: Standard. > Cavern: Standard. SET 2: Also Sprach Zarathustra: Great way to open up the second set! This was a lot of fun. > Down with Disease: -> Moby Dick > Down with Disease: They teased MD in Cavern at Hartford, so this wasn’t totally out of left field. Very fun and entertaining sequence here. > Runaway Jim -> Moby Dick: Standard Jim but when they busted back into MD it was becoming apparent that the band was thoroughly enjoying themselves this evening. Back on the Train -> Moby Dick > Back on the Train: Standard BOTT . Harry Hood > Moby Dick: Standard Hood. Hold Your Head Up > Terrapin > Hold Your Head Up > Moby Dick[1] > Hold Your Head Up: Fishman hamming it up and Deer Creek ate it up. Character Zero: Standard. ENCORE: First Tube > Moby Dick > Chalk Dust Torture Reprise: First Tube is normal, MD of course and then the hilarious banter in CDTR. Summary: This show was a lot of fun to attend. Walking out of this one was a hoot over hearing all the lively conversation and recounting of what just transpired. The rating currently I guess I understand why it is so high because of the unique aspect of this one. Outside of that though and the Ya Mar, there isn’t anything else I ever need to revisit. Would rate as a 4/5. Replay Value: Ya Mar [1] Trey on drums and Fish on vacuum. In keeping with the theme of the second set, Hood included a Moby Dick tease. Trey introduced Fish as “Russell Crowe” during Terrapin. The Moby Dick inside of the HYHU jam featured Trey on drums and Fish on vacuum. The Chalk Dust Reprise was akin to the version last played on December 10, 1994 (393 shows), with the band singing the words “Chalk Dust Torture” over varied music. At the end of the encore, Trey joked that, if anyone missed anything, they should read the book or see the movie. Trey also teased Moby Dick at the end of the encore's Chalk Dust Reprise. Prior to this show, Moby Dick had not been played since November 29, 1997 (174 shows). SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.607/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Drowned, Chalk Dust Torture Reprise, Chalk Dust Torture, Also Sprach Zarathustra TEASES Moby Dick tease in Harry Hood, Moby Dick tease in Chalk Dust Torture Reprise
, attached to 1995-11-21

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Fee:[/b] great choice for the opener [b]Chalk Dust Torture:[/b] awesome fast paced high energy version [b]Prince Caspian:[/b] standard [b]Divided Sky:[/b] performed beautifully [b]My Long Journey Home: [/b]acoustically standard [b]I’m Blue I’m Lonesome:[/b] another one. Love this tune, my favorite acoustic bluegrass cover from the early/mid 1990s [b]Guyute:[/b] solid [b]My Friend My Friend: [/b]short type 2 outro jam here that goes into [b]Dog Faced Boy:[/b] standard [b]Runaway Jim:[/b] set closing Jim with a sick build and peak [b] Simple:[/b] Trey quickly switches to the percussion kit and we’re type 2 to start the set. Trey and Fish find a nice groove with Page backing up on piano, sounds similar to the middle section of Free during this era. Then Page switches over to keyboards and Mike gets in on the action. After a couple minutes Fish suddenly starts the hi hat intro of… [b]David Bowie:[/b] long evil intro out of the Simple jam. This jam is immediately heavy and explorational, which leads right into [b]Take Me To The River:[/b] great shortened cover sandwiched between two phenomenal Bowie sections [b]David Bowie:[/b] this portion of the jam is more themed to the usual Bowie build and peak. Fish is playing out of his mind and after a while of building they find the ending. Really great set so far [b]Glide:[/b] good way to cool down a bit after the craziness that just occurred. Played well [b]Ya Mar:[/b] strange Fish and Trey jam, followed by a strange Mike jam, fun version [b]Mike’s Song:[/b] YES YES YES. After a sick first jam, they decide to keep going and break off into type 2 in glorious fashion. The last few minutes are so gorgeous and why I love this era so much. Fantastic times infinity [b]Keyboard Army: [/b]after teasing it for a while in Mike’s, Page takes us into the lovely little alternative to Acoustic Army. Unlike it’s twin, it made an appearance after 1.0, in the 2015 Dick’s thank you encore [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Suspicious Minds:[/b] Henrietta, aka John Sullen Melancholy, makes an appearance to give us some catchy Elvis [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Carolina:[/b] appropriate, crowd is happy of course [b]A Day In The Life:[/b] some Beatles to close out this all timer of a set [b]Good Times Bad Times[/b]: great closing to a great show Wow. Right in the middle (2/3, whatever) of the final mega cross country Phish tour, this masterpiece of a show takes place. First set is regular 1995 goods, but this second set is just incredible. Exploration, segues, Henrietta, covers, this set has everything, and everything is executed perfectly. The end of the Mike’s jam alone is enough to make me give this a 10/10. I do. Highlights are Divided Sky, MFMF, and the entire second set
, attached to 2019-07-05

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Free:[/b] solid opener [b]Blaze On: [/b]normal type 1 peak version [b]555:[/b] standard [b]Tube: [/b]great extended jam in this one. Mike is fantastic. Bliss peak [b]Brian And Robert:[/b] standard [b]Halfway To The Moon:[/b] Page’s turn [b]Ocelot:[/b] standard [b]Rift[/b]: played well [b]Everything’s Right:[/b] first type 2 jam of the show. They find a nice place and build it to a great peak and that leads us to [b]Runaway Jim:[/b] unusual set closing placement, but a good one [b]Sand:[/b] to start the set, this jam stays type 1 and peaks back into the song, rather than getting out into exploration [b]Axilla:[/b] standard [b]Mercury:[/b] fantastic type 2 improvisation here. Red queen Trey solo is 10/10. Gets spacey and contains Mike bombing and drilling [b]Wading In The Velvet Sea: [/b]gorgeous solo from Red. I love love love this song, hate me all you want [b]Fuego:[/b] love this placement, and we get more type 2 greatness. Cowbell [b]Say It To Me SANTOS:[/b] I think this song is great as a closer, but not here. Should’ve waited. Really good version though [b]Character Zero:[/b] closing ragyness with extra Mike goods [b]Bug:[/b] standard [b]The Squirming Coil[/b]: love ya Page Interesting show from Fenway. The jamming in Mercury and Fuego is awesome, but some of the song choices and placements are a little iffy. This is a 6/10 show. Highlights are Tube, Everything’s Right, Mercury, Wading, and Fuego
, attached to 2004-06-18

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]AC/DC Bag:[/b] good opener [b]Camel Walk:[/b] played well [b]Crowd Control:[/b] standard [b]Stash:[/b] awesome version that stays type 1 [b]Cars Trucks Buses[/b]: standard [b]Carini:[/b] interesting placement, breaks away for a few minutes, but returns to the main riff to finish [b]My Sweet One:[/b] standard [b]Character Zero:[/b] standard rager [b]Tweezer:[/b] very odd position, this combo is a glimpse of 6/7/2009 in the future. This one stays in familiar territory and focuses more on a set ending peak (which is fantastic) than exploration. Good stuff [b]Wilson:[/b] pretty normal [b]Down With Disease:[/b] likely due to the antics that would follow, this version stays type 1 and is cut short. Kind of disappointing but still a fun high energy moment [b]99 Problems:[/b] the ultimate Phish musical guest makes his appearance. Crowd loves it [b]Big Pimpin:[/b] one more. Also this should’ve been first set but whatever [b]Chalk Dust Torture[/b]: back to our regularly scheduled projamming, we get the first type 2 journey of the night. It grows quiet and spacey and goes from there. Really wonderful and creative [b]Harry Hood:[/b] strangely exploratory and unfinished type 2 version [b]Taste:[/b] awesome peaking set closer. Another short set though [b]Bug:[/b] audible “awww” from the crowd lol [b]Tweezer Reprise:[/b] standard This is not a bad show at all, it just needed more length. Amazing jamming in CDT and Harry, and good playing with minimal flubs. Big improvement on Vegas, the crowd was very enthusiastic. This is a 6/10 with points off for short length and bad Jay Z placement. Highlights are Tweezer, Chalk Dust, and Hood
, attached to 2000-07-10

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, MONDAY 07/10/2000 DEER CREEK MUSIC CENTER Noblesville, IN Soundcheck: Ginseng Sullivan > My Soul, You Better Believe It Baby SET 1: Cars Trucks Buses: Standard. > Wilson: Standard. > It's Ice: The jam has a jazzy interlude thanks to Fish. > Bathtub Gin: Another Summer 00 Gin that they take for a ride. High energy version that never slows down. Would recommend. Buffalo Bill: Standard. My Mind's Got a Mind of its Own: Split Open and Melt: The body of work is fairly benign but everything that would typically be associated with the ending is hot and inspired. Sparkle: Standard. > Funky Bitch: Standard. David Bowie: Standard. SET 2: Gotta Jibboo: Standard. > Sand: Trey on mini keyboard for minutes at a time. Cerebral version. Would be fun to relisten to this one given the right headspace. But many would consider this a boring version. Twist: Standard. Fee: Nice little jam tacked on to this one. > What's the Use? Big and bold. I definitely had a moment during this at the show, was in awe of Trey. > Limb By Limb: Strong, compact version. > Loving Cup: Standard. ENCORE: Run Like an Antelope: Odd to play this at back to back shows. Standard version here. Summary: Had a ton of fun, I mean it’s Phish at Deer Creek. But this show fell flat like Alpine. Would rate this as a 3.5/5, 3.896/5 (>50 ratings) seems awfully generous. Replay Value: Bathtub Gin Trey teased San-Ho-Zay in Twist and Stash in Antelope. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 3.896/5 (>50 ratings) TEASES Stash tease in Run Like an Antelope, San-Ho-Zay tease in Twist
, attached to 2000-07-08

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, SATURDAY 07/08/2000 ALPINE VALLEY MUSIC THEATRE East Troy, WI SET 1: Punch You in the Eye: Standard. > NICU: Standard. > My Soul: Standard. Poor Heart: Standard. Wolfman's Brother: Should have kept jamming this, it was set to take off. First Tube: Good placement. Llama: Good stuff, energy remains very high. Guyute: Standard. Run Like an Antelope: Very solid! Love all the wah towards the end. Was all wooked out for this show, kept getting kicked out of the strip of grass at the side of the pavilion – was a beautiful place to dance, lol. SET 2: Heavy Things: Trey is seriously picking and grinning on this one, hot version. > Piper: It’s a crying shame they cut this short. It had legs but they cut them off. -> Rock and Roll: Standard. Tweezer: Very short. -> Walk Away: Standard. Twist: Standard. The Horse > Silent in the Morning: Standard. Possum: Standard ENCORE: Suzy Greenberg[1] – This one has some extra, funky mustard. > Tweezer Reprise: Standard. Summary: I had an absolute blast at this one. Good seats, company, etc. But this is one of the most vanilla shows I have ever seen. Was surprised when they released it for Live Phish. What an odd selection. The current rating of 4.087/5 (>50 ratings) is laughable. I would give it a 3/5. Replay Value: Honestly? None. Piper was fun but I would never purposely seek it out again. [1] The band skipped the second verse. Antelope included Yakety Sax and Jibboo teases. The band skipped the second verse of Suzy. This show was officially released as Live Phish 05. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 4.087/5 (>50 ratings) JAM CHART VERSIONS Piper, Tweezer TEASES Yakety Sax and Gotta Jibboo teases in Run Like an Antelope
, attached to 2010-08-15

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Tweezer:[/b] starting the show off right. The jam stays type 1 but the build and peak is really great. The exploration this lacked would come later on [b]AC/DC Bag: [/b]very nice [b]On Your Way Down: [/b]they should bring this back. Good song [b]Divided Sky:[/b] flawless, amazing [b]Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan:[/b] standard. High energy set so far [b]Water In The Sky: [/b]standard [b]The Moma Dance:[/b] funky dance party time. Well played and placed [b]Farmhouse:[/b] bringing the energy down in a beautiful way [b]David Bowie:[/b] great Trey+Page interplay during the jam, which is the typical set closing peaky greatness. Solid set but it’s time for some exploring [b]Ghost:[/b] the second set starts with one of the most reliable Phish jam vehicles, and this version has one of the best Ghost peaks ever. The crowd shows their appreciation, then they break free into a short type 2 section that quickly transitions to [b]Theme From The Bottom:[/b] solid performance, with some strange (in a good way) soloing from Trey [b]Big Black Furry Creature From Mars:[/b] a fun break from the normal second set stuff [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] earlier placement than usual, but really nice performance. Also I live for bass+drums [b]Piper:[/b] finally an extended type 2 jam. Gives late 1990s vibes for a bit. Grows spacey after a while and Fish starts up the perfect song for this situation, which of course is [b]2001:[/b] standard second set dance party [b]While My Guitar Gently Weeps:[/b] 49 show gap. Crowd loves it and sings along. Trey kills it per usual [b]Character Zero:[/b] super high energy set 2 closer [b]Oh Sweet Nuthin:[/b] I am not a fan of this song. Don’t hate it but would rather have something (anything) else [b]Cavern:[/b] standard [b]Joy:[/b] standard [b]Tweezer Reprise:[/b] that’s all pholks This one is a rager. High energy basically the whole time with some fun treats mixed in.. We get type 2 at the end of Ghost and Piper, but nothing great to speak of in that regard. Highlights are Tweezer, Bowie, Ghost, YEM, and Piper. This is a 5.5/10 show due to the lack of exploration, which isn’t surprising since it’s 2010. But you know what they say, if it's not Vegas N1 2004 it's always an awesome experience
, attached to 2022-07-16

Review by ocelot22

ocelot22 My first review. What a moment. Attendance bias is real here, but a relisten made me want to share my feelings about this show. The weather was unreal and the venue was buzzing. The Eagle that flew over the river pre-show made an appearance for the Free opener which was super cool. But I will be clear to state that Set 1 really doesn’t have any standouts. A well played Reba is always welcomed and I do like the flow of song choice but it’s not anything to truly write home about. Set 2 is a different story. A couple of flubbed lines in Ocelot must have eaten at Trey because he came out looking for blood. Sigma Oasis was a good version, but DWD is an absolute gator tail. Its length is not why it’s so highly regarded by me. It’s the fact that each time you believe it’s ending, someone picks up the slack and won’t let it be. Fishman is the standout here and they even finish the song! In the moment it was excellent and it holds up against the sands of time. A true must listen. They flow perfectly into WTU and then they play an excellent Fluff. Twist leads back into Sigma and brings home a banger of a five song second set. I also think this is the last time Roses was played which is both interesting and makes me wonder if a comeback is due. Trey goes guitar god for First Tube and everyone goes home happy. Maine is the way life should be. I’m proud to call it home and love how much history the band has here. Please come back soon!
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2024  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode